”16 can really be a dangerous age for most youths, but guidance and counseling can work things out. In my football team, there’s a policy, you play as per your grade, You get an E, you stay on the bench, but when you get a good grade, you play all the games, tell me which player would train for a whole season just to sit on the bench? I think this has really worked on my team, and they are disciplined enough too, that one am sure of. Education over football, that still rules. I have players who are now in the university and are doing extremely well. Last year my senior’s team won the Nairobi Champions League, it was really a milestone and I think they deserved it. Sometimes, it’s really not just about playing the ball, there’s a sense of community we build, there are characters we change, and if they are unchangeable, we try as much as possible to eliminate.” Stam Kaindi (@stamkaindi) #KiberaStories Photo by Bryan Jaybee @storitellah.

”16 can really be a dangerous age for most youths, but guidance and counseling can work things out. In my football team, there’s a policy, you play as per your grade, You get an E, you stay on the bench, but when you get a good grade, you play all the games, tell me which player would train for a whole season just to sit on the bench? I think this has really worked on my team, and they are disciplined enough too, that one am sure of. Education over football, that still rules. I have players who are now in the university and are doing extremely well. Last year my senior’s team won the Nairobi Champions League, it was really a milestone and I think they deserved it. Sometimes, it’s really not just about playing the ball, there’s a sense of community we build, there are characters we change, and if they are unchangeable, we try as much as possible to eliminate.” Stam Kaindi (@stamkaindi) #KiberaStories
Photo by Bryan Jaybee @storitellah.
Leave a Reply

