”I stumbled upon an advertisement poster on the street walls in Kibera calling all ladies for modelling auditions. I went for the auditions, and I was just walking like a footballer, with the jersey and everything, complete with that tomboy look, guys were just wondering what am up to. Fortunately I was shortlisted in the first round, and what followed next was a one week training camp for the finalists. Then we went for the competitions and I won, I was awarded the title of Miss Kibera 2012. That’s how I got into modeling. This was my starting point, and whenever there were some community work, workshops or somethings like that, Miss Kibera had to get involved, I had busy days and would miss my football training sessions, the coach used visit my aunt everyday and they would talk and talk about me and football, he felt like as if he was losing one of his best players but I had to make up my mind and hang my boots for a while.” #KiberaStories Photo by Bryan Jaybee @storitellah.

”I stumbled upon an advertisement poster on the street walls in Kibera calling all ladies for modelling auditions. I went for the auditions, and I was just walking like a footballer, with the jersey and everything, complete with that tomboy look, guys were just wondering what am up to. Fortunately I was shortlisted in the first round, and what followed next was a one week training camp for the finalists. Then we went for the competitions and I won, I was awarded the title of Miss Kibera 2012. That’s how I got into modeling. This was my starting point, and whenever there were some community work, workshops or somethings like that, Miss Kibera had to get involved, I had busy days and would miss my football training sessions, the coach used visit my aunt everyday and they would talk and talk about me and football, he felt like as if he was losing one of his best players but I had to make up my mind and hang my boots for a while.” #KiberaStories
Photo by Bryan Jaybee @storitellah. http://ift.tt/1pJzBYN
Leave a Reply

